University of South Alabama AGPCNP Programs

College of Nursing • Mobile, AL • Mostly Online • $609 CPC

The University of South Alabama (USA) College of Nursing offers five Adult-Gerontological Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGPCNP) pathways:

  • MSN (BSN entry)
  • RN-MSN (RNs with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree)
  • Post-Graduate Certificate
  • BSN-DNP
  • MSN-DNP (adding AGPCNP as a new specialty, or advanced practice roles for MSN-prepared AGPCNPs)

All pathways are delivered online with one required on-campus Clinical Skills Intensive in Mobile. Applicants need an unrestricted RN license and two years of RN experience before starting NP clinical courses. USA does not accept applicants from New York or South Dakota.

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. Tuition (Resident)Est. DurationCredit Hours
MSN (BSN entry)$27,405Not published (5-year maximum)45
RN-MSN$34,713Not published (5-year maximum)57
Post-Graduate Certificate$14,616–$20,097Up to 2 years24–33
BSN-DNP$42,02110 semesters full-time; 16 part-time69
MSN-DNP, Adding AGPCNP$36,540–$42,02110 semesters full-time; 12 part-time60–69
MSN-DNP, Advanced Practice Roles$21,9244 semesters full-time36

Tuition estimates multiply USA’s 2026–2027 graduate nursing rate of $609 per credit, which applies to residents and non-residents alike, by each pathway’s published credit total.

  • Why choose it: Every student pays $609 per credit regardless of state, so the MSN costs about $27,405 for residents and non-residents alike. Admission runs three times a year, and clinicals can be done at approved sites nationwide.
  • Trade-off: Students find their own preceptors, placement is not guaranteed, and applicants without a site are admitted conditionally and capped at 9 credits.

Quick Facts

Program TypesMSN, RN-MSN, Post-Graduate Certificate, BSN-DNP, MSN-DNP
FormatOnline with one required campus visit
Campus AttendanceOne mandatory Clinical Skills Intensive (CSI), fall term
Clinical Hours600 (MSN, certificate); 1,140 (BSN-DNP, MSN-DNP adding AGPCNP)
Clinical PlacementStudent-led with college support as needed; not guaranteed
Clinical LocationsApproved sites in the student’s own area, nationwide
Population FocusPatients over 13, adults, and older adults in outpatient settings
Experience Required2 years of RN experience before NP clinical courses
Start TermsFall, spring, summer (certificate: spring and summer only)
Tuition$609/credit, all students
Excluded StatesNew York, South Dakota
AccreditationCCNE

MSN – Adult-Gerontological Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (BSN Entry)

The USA MSN AGPCNP track requires 45 credits and costs an estimated $27,405. USA does not publish a standard completion time; students must finish within five years of matriculation. It is the core pathway for BSN-prepared RNs who want AGPCNP certification without committing to a DNP.

MSN Curriculum

The 45 credits fall into three blocks: 9 credits of support courses (the “3 P’s”), a 12-credit MSN/DNP core, and a 24-credit AGPCNP specialty sequence. The core uses four doctoral-level NU 600 courses, so a USA MSN graduate who later enters the DNP has already completed half of the DNP core.

The specialty sequence pairs each didactic course with a practicum: NP I with Practicum I, NP II with Practicum II, and NP III with Practicum III. Clinical load rises across the sequence, peaking at 240 hours in the final term. Three one-credit interprofessional education courses (HSC 601–603) are less common in AGPCNP curricula.

Support and Core Courses (21 credits)

  • NU 518 – Advanced Nursing Assessment (3)
  • NU 545 – Physio-Pathological Basis of Advanced Nursing (3)
  • NU 578 – Pharmacology for Advanced Practice Nurses (3)
  • NU 607, NU 608, NU 610, NU 613 – scientific underpinnings, EBP and quality improvement, policy and finance, organizational leadership (3 each)

AGPCNP Specialty Courses (24 credits)

  • AHN 581 – Health Promotion/Disease Prevention & Issues for AGPCNP (2)
  • AHN 588 – Introduction to AGPCNP (2)
  • AHN 591 – AGPCNP I (2)
  • AHN 592 – AGPCNP Practicum I, 180 clinical hours (3)
  • AHN 593 – AGPCNP II (3)
  • AHN 594 – AGPCNP Practicum II, 180 clinical hours (3)
  • AHN 595 – AGPCNP III (2)
  • AHN 596 – AGPCNP Practicum III, 240 clinical hours (4)
  • HSC 601 Intro to IPE, HSC 602 Team Building, HSC 603 Assessment of Vulnerable Populations (1 each)

See the official MSN curriculum in the USA Bulletin.

MSN Clinical Requirements

  • 600 clinical hours: Practicum I (180), Practicum II (180), Practicum III (240)
  • Settings: primary care clinics, VA facilities, nursing homes, rural health clinics, and other outpatient sites
  • Campus: one mandatory Clinical Skills Intensive in the fall term while enrolled in AHN 581 and AHN 588; dates are chosen first-come, first-served
  • Placement responsibility: students are encouraged to find sites and preceptors through their own professional networks; the college works with students as needed
  • Geography: approved sites anywhere geographically accessible to the student
  • Guarantee: none; USA states that no approved placement is guaranteed
  • Admission link: full admission requires a documented placement; otherwise admission is conditional, with a 9-credit cap on support courses
  • If no site is found: USA says students may request transfer of completed credits, such as the 3 P’s, to another institution

This model suits nurses with strong local networks, such as those already working in a primary care system. Students in saturated markets or rural areas with few NPs carry real risk. The 9-credit cap surfaces the problem early, but a student who cannot secure a site may have to leave the program.

The single CSI is a light campus burden: one trip for the whole program. Because it is tied to fall enrollment in AHN 581 and 588, your plan of study sets the timing.

MSN Admissions

  • BSN from a regionally accredited institution with a CCNE-, ACEN-, or NLN-accredited nursing program
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA on all BSN coursework
  • Current, unrestricted RN license
  • Two years of RN experience in an appropriate area before NP clinical courses
  • U.S. citizen or permanent resident
  • Documented clinical placement for full admission
  • NursingCAS application, then a supplemental application with a $100 non-refundable fee
  • Deadlines: November 1 (spring), April 1 (summer), July 15 (fall)
  • Not accepting applicants from New York or South Dakota

The experience rule deserves attention. USA requires two years of RN experience before NP clinical courses, not before admission, so newer nurses may start support and core courses while accruing experience. The DNP page describes this experience as adult-gerontological primary care experience specifically, which is narrower than the MSN page’s “appropriate area” wording.

See the MSN admission criteria and application procedures.


RN-MSN – Adult-Gerontological Primary Care NP (Non-Nursing Bachelor’s)

The RN-MSN pathway serves RNs with a bachelor’s degree outside nursing. It adds 12 bridge credits to the 45-credit AGPCNP MSN, for 57 credits and an estimated $34,713. USA does not state that students earn a BSN along the way.

RN-MSN Curriculum

Three 4-credit bridge courses precede the MSN coursework. After the bridge, the curriculum, 600 clinical hours, CSI, and placement rules match the MSN track above.

  • NU 506 – Evidence-Based Practice & Informatics for Professional Nurses (4)
  • NU 507 – Leadership & Management Roles for Professional Nurses (4)
  • NU 508 – Clinical Prevention and Population Health for Professional Nurses (4)

RN-MSN Admissions

  • Non-nursing bachelor’s degree with a minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Current, unrestricted RN license
  • Two years of relevant RN experience before NP clinical courses
  • Resume documenting clinical experience
  • Drug screen, background check, and health documentation after acceptance
  • Same NursingCAS process, deadlines, and state exclusions as the MSN

The bridge adds about $7,300 at the current rate. For an associate-degree RN with an unrelated bachelor’s, that is likely less than completing a separate RN-BSN first.


Post-Graduate Certificate – Adult-Gerontological Primary Care NP

The USA AGPCNP Post-Graduate Certificate is for nurses who already hold a graduate nursing degree. It requires 33 credits, or 24 if the 3 P’s are waived. It costs an estimated $14,616–$20,097 and must be completed within two years.

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate uses the same 24-credit specialty sequence as the MSN, including all three practica and the three HSC interprofessional courses. The 9 credits of support courses (NU 518, NU 545, NU 578) can be waived for students who have already completed them. No MSN/DNP core courses are required.

See the official post-graduate certificate curriculum.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • 600 clinical hours across AHN 592, 594, and 596
  • Same CSI, student-led placement, and no-guarantee policy as the MSN

Certificate Admissions

  • Graduate nursing degree from an accredited program
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA on all MSN coursework
  • Current, unrestricted RN license and two years of relevant experience before clinical courses
  • Start terms: spring and summer only (deadlines November 1 and April 1)
  • Not accepting applicants from New York or South Dakota

The waiver is the main variable. A nurse with prior graduate courses in advanced assessment, pathophysiology, and pharmacology saves 9 credits and about $5,500. USA does not publish a limit on how recent those courses must be. USA also does not state that current APRN certification is required, so the certificate is open to non-APRN graduate nurses.


BSN-DNP – Adult-Gerontological Primary Care NP

The USA BSN-DNP AGPCNP pathway requires 69 credits and costs an estimated $42,021. It takes 10 semesters full-time or 16 part-time, with a seven-year maximum. Students complete the MSN first, within five years, then the DNP.

BSN-DNP Curriculum

The first 45 credits are identical to the AGPCNP MSN. The DNP phase adds 12 credits of DNP core and a 12-credit AGPCNP residency. The residency is specialty-specific, which is less common than a generic DNP practicum. Residents complete a scholarly project that produces a quality improvement change; USA does not require a thesis or dissertation.

  • NU 611 – Translating Evidence into Practice (3)
  • NU 612 – Clinical Prevention and Population Health (3)
  • NU 615 – Quality Improvement and Outcomes Assessment (3)
  • NU 616 – Data and Decision Making in Healthcare Systems (3)
  • AHN 693 – AGPCNP Project Planning & Development (3)
  • AHN 694, 695, 696 – AGPCNP Residency I–III, 180 specialty clinical hours each (3 each)

See the official BSN-DNP curriculum in the USA Bulletin.

BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements

  • 600 MSN practicum hours plus 540 residency hours, for 1,140 total
  • Residency completed in the student’s home region with an approved mentor
  • Same CSI requirement and student-led, non-guaranteed placement model as the MSN

BSN-DNP Admissions

  • BSN from an accredited program; minimum 3.0 overall undergraduate GPA and 3.0 on BSN coursework
  • Current, unrestricted RN license; U.S. citizen or permanent resident
  • Two years of RN experience in adult-gerontological primary care before the clinical portion
  • Personal goal statement (450–500 words, APA format) and CV; letters of reference not required
  • Documented clinical placement for full admission
  • Deadlines: November 1 (spring), April 1 (summer), July 15 (fall); decisions at least eight weeks after the deadline

See the DNP admission criteria and the BSN-DNP pathway page.


MSN-DNP – Adding AGPCNP as a New Specialty

This MSN-DNP route is for MSN-prepared nurses in another specialty who want AGPCNP certification and a DNP. It requires 60–69 credits, costs an estimated $36,540–$42,021, and runs 10 semesters full-time or 12 part-time.

A published conflict worth knowing about. USA’s AGPCNP program page lists 60–69 credits for this route. The USA Bulletin lists 62–81, a range that covers every NP concentration. The AGPCNP requirements sum to 69 credits (9 support, 24 specialty, 24 DNP core, 12 residency), or 60 with the 3 P’s waived. This page uses the program page figure because it matches the course-level math.

MSN-DNP (New Specialty) Structure

Students earn the AGPCNP post-graduate certificate inside the program and must finish it within two years of starting specialty coursework. The full DNP must be completed within seven years. Students who took NU 607, 608, 610, and 613 in their MSN complete only the remaining DNP credits; USA does not publish the resulting total.

MSN-DNP (New Specialty) Clinical Requirements and Admissions

  • 600 certificate practicum hours plus 540 residency hours (1,140 total)
  • Mandatory CSI and the same student-led placement model
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA on all MSN work; unrestricted RN license
  • Two years of adult-gerontological primary care RN experience before clinical courses
  • Same application process and deadlines as the BSN-DNP

MSN-DNP for Advanced Practice Roles – AGPCNP

The MSN-DNP for Advanced Practice Roles is for nurses who completed an MSN in the AGPCNP specialty. It requires 36 credits, costs an estimated $21,924, takes four semesters full-time, and is delivered completely online.

The curriculum is the 24-credit DNP core plus the 12-credit AGPCNP residency (AHN 693–696), with 540 residency hours. USA does not explicitly require AGPCNP certification, but because the residency is specialty clinical practice, applicants should expect to need AGPCNP preparation from their MSN. Admission requires an accredited MSN, a 3.0 graduate GPA, an unrestricted RN license, and two years of relevant experience. Full-time means six or more credits per semester.


Tuition

USA’s 2026–2027 tuition schedule sets graduate nursing tuition at $609 per credit, regardless of residency. For comparison, USA’s own non-nursing graduate programs charge $990–$1,206 per credit out of state.

Estimated Total Tuition

PathwayAll Students
MSN (45 credits)$27,405
RN-MSN (57 credits)$34,713
Post-Graduate Certificate (24–33 credits)$14,616–$20,097
BSN-DNP (69 credits)$42,021
MSN-DNP, Adding AGPCNP (60–69 credits)$36,540–$42,021
MSN-DNP, Advanced Practice Roles (36 credits)$21,924

Calculated from the published per-credit rate and credit totals; not university-published totals.

Fees Beyond Tuition

  • Academic Infrastructure & Technology (graduate): $75 per credit, up to $450
  • Allied Health/Nursing Resource Fee: $169 per semester, including summer
  • Special course fees: listed in the Schedule of Classes
  • Application: $100 supplemental processing fee plus NursingCAS fees
  • Student-borne costs: travel to the Clinical Skills Intensive in Mobile

See USA’s fee schedule for current amounts.


Why Choose This AGPCNP Program?

Best suited for: Working RNs outside Alabama with established primary care contacts who want an online AGPCNP program at a flat rate, with MSN, certificate, and DNP entry points.

Out-of-State Students Pay the Alabama Price

The flat $609 rate is USA’s strongest financial case. A non-resident MSN student pays an estimated $27,405, the same as a resident. At most public universities, non-residents pay a premium; here, that penalty disappears.

Finding Preceptors Is Largely on You

USA encourages students to find their own sites and preceptors and states that placement is not guaranteed. The college helps as needed, and students can train anywhere in the country. But full admission depends on a documented placement, and a student who cannot find one may end up transferring credits elsewhere. Applicants without a clear path to primary care preceptors should weigh this heavily.

One Campus Trip, Three Start Dates

The only campus requirement is a single fall Clinical Skills Intensive. Admission in fall, spring, and summer means applicants rarely wait long to start. The certificate is the exception, admitting in spring and summer only.

A DNP Head Start Built Into the MSN

The MSN includes four NU 600-level DNP core courses, so USA MSN graduates who return for the DNP arrive with 12 of 24 DNP core credits done. The AGPCNP-specific residency keeps the doctoral phase tied to primary care practice rather than general leadership.

The Verdict

South Alabama makes the most sense for out-of-state RNs who can line up their own primary care preceptors: they get a public-university price with no residency penalty and a single campus visit. It also works well for MSN-prepared AGPCNPs who want a 36-credit online DNP.

Applicants who want the school to arrange clinical placements should compare other options. So should nurses without two years of relevant experience in sight, and applicants in New York or South Dakota, who are not eligible.


Accreditation

USA’s MSN, DNP, and post-graduate APRN certificate programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). USA states that graduates are prepared to sit for national AGPCNP certification and apply for APRN licensure.

USA does not accept applicants from New York or South Dakota, and graduates cannot obtain APRN licensure there through the program. USA places responsibility on graduates to confirm the program meets licensure requirements in their state, so applicants should check with their own state board before applying.

Other AGPCNP Programs in Alabama

Compare all Alabama AG-PCNP programs