Michigan State University College of Nursing offers 4 Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner pathways:
- MSN (BSN entry)
- BSN-DNP
- Post-Master’s DNP (for practicing APRNs)
- Post-Graduate Certificate (for certified APRNs)
All NP coursework is hybrid: online instruction plus a limited number of required days in East Lansing. Every NP student must hold a Michigan RN license before starting clinical courses, regardless of home state.
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition (Resident) | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN AGPCNP | $54,782 | 2 years full-time; 3 years part-time | 56 |
| BSN-DNP AGPCNP | $73,368 | Not published | 75 |
| Post-Master’s DNP | $27,391–$33,261 | 2 years | 28–34 (varies by gap analysis) |
| Post-Graduate Certificate | $31,304–$40,108 | Not published | 32 (up to 41 with refresher courses) |
Tuition estimates multiply MSU’s Fall 2026–Spring 2027 graduate rate ($978.25/credit resident, $1,814.75/credit non-resident) by the credit totals in MSU’s academic catalog.
What sets Michigan State apart is a clinical model built around the college rather than the student. MSU says it vets and arranges AGPCNP rotations through partnerships across Michigan, and it caps on-campus time at roughly 15 days for the program. For a working Michigan RN, that removes the two biggest logistical problems in NP school: finding preceptors and repeated travel.
The cost of that model is geography and price. Because every NP student needs a Michigan RN license before clinicals and placements run through in-state partners, the program functions best for nurses who live and work in Michigan. Non-residents also pay $1,814.75 per credit, nearly double the resident rate, which pushes the BSN-DNP past $136,000 in tuition.
MSU arranges clinical rotations and keeps campus time to about 15 days, but its Michigan-centered placements and near-double non-resident rate make it a program for Michigan nurses first.
Quick Facts
| Program Types | MSN, BSN-DNP, Post-Master’s DNP, Post-Graduate Certificate |
| Format | Hybrid; online and in-person classes, synchronous and asynchronous |
| Campus Attendance | About 15 days across the program (program page); about 4–5 days per semester in clinical courses (curriculum page) |
| Clinical Placement | Vetted and arranged by MSU through Michigan clinical partnerships |
| Clinical Hours | Not clearly published for MSN, BSN-DNP, or certificate; post-master’s DNP requires 1,000 combined supervised hours |
| Population Focus | Ages 13 and up, with emphasis on frail older adults |
| Licensure Required | Unrestricted RN license; Michigan RN license before clinical courses |
| Start Terms | Fall cohort for MSN and BSN-DNP |
| Certification Outcome | 100% first-time pass rate for Adult-Gerontology NP graduates (2024, as reported by MSU) |
| Tuition | $978.25/credit resident; $1,814.75/credit non-resident (2026–27) |
| Accreditation | CCNE |
MSN AGPCNP
The MSN Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP costs an estimated $54,782 for Michigan residents ($101,626 non-resident) for 56 credits. MSU publishes a two-year full-time plan and a three-year part-time plan. It is the entry point for BSN-prepared RNs who want NP certification without a doctorate.
A published conflict worth knowing about. MSU’s academic catalog lists a 24-credit core and a 32-credit AGPCNP concentration (56 credits), built around new courses such as NUR 942 and NUR 944. The College of Nursing’s curriculum page still describes a 54-credit plan using NUR 913 and NUR 925–928. The catalog’s course-by-course list sums to its stated total, so this page uses 56 credits. Neither document states which entering cohort it applies to.
MSN Curriculum
The catalog version splits into three parts. The core covers advanced practice foundations (pathophysiology, physical assessment, pharmacology) plus policy, informatics, quality, and biostatistics. NUR 906 (Leadership) is not required for this concentration. The specialty sequence then moves through primary care health promotion and diagnosis courses into three AGPCNP-specific diagnosis and management courses.
Two features stand out. First, NUR 912 and NUR 916 are primary care courses shared with MSU’s Family NP track, so AGPCNP students train alongside FNP students early in the specialty sequence. Second, the concentration adds a dedicated diagnostic reasoning course (NUR 942) and a gerontology concepts course (NUR 944), giving the older-adult focus its own coursework rather than leaving it to the clinical courses alone.
Core (24 credits):
- NUR 902 – Scientific Foundations for the Advanced Practice Nurse (3)
- NUR 903 – Healthcare Informatics (3)
- NUR 904 – Health Policy and Advocacy (3)
- NUR 905 – Patient Safety, Quality Improvement and Quality Management in Healthcare (3)
- NUR 907 – Advanced Pathophysiology for the APRN (3)
- NUR 908 – Advanced Physical Assessment for the APRN (3)
- NUR 909 – Advanced Pharmacology for the APRN (3)
- NUR 914 – Biostatistics for the APRN (3)
AGPCNP Concentration (32 credits):
- NUR 912 – Health Promotion and Population Health for the Primary Care NP (3)
- NUR 942 – Introduction to Diagnostic Reasoning for the AGPCNP (3)
- NUR 944 – Gerontological Concepts for the AGPCNP (2)
- NUR 916 – Diagnosis and Management for the Primary Care NP (6)
- NUR 925 – Diagnosis and Management for the AGPCNP I (6)
- NUR 927 – Diagnosis and Management for the AGPCNP II (6)
- NUR 928 – Diagnosis and Management for the AGPCNP III (6)
Full requirements are in the MSU academic catalog. Plans of study are linked from the College of Nursing curriculum page.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- Total clinical hours: not clearly published in current MSU sources
- Clinical hours sit inside the 6-credit diagnosis and management courses (NUR 916, 925, 927, 928)
- Placement: MSU states that rotations are vetted and arranged for students through partnerships throughout Michigan; its NP overview page describes this as assisting with placements
- Settings named by MSU: adolescent health, internal medicine, senior health care, long-term care, and sub-acute rehab
- Michigan RN license required before any clinical course
- Campus: hybrid clinical courses include roughly 4–5 campus days per semester, per the curriculum page
School-arranged placement is the strongest practical feature here. Many AGPCNP programs require distance students to recruit their own preceptors, which can delay progression by a semester or more. MSU does not publish a placement guarantee or say what happens if a site falls through, and its placements are tied to Michigan partners. Applicants living outside Michigan should assume they will need to complete clinicals in the state.
MSN Admissions
- BSN from an accredited college or university
- Minimum 3.0 GPA for the second half of the BSN program
- Current, unrestricted RN license; Michigan RN license for Michigan practitioners
- 3-credit statistics course (2.0 undergraduate or 3.0 graduate) within five years of the program start date
- Essay on career goals and motivation for the specialty
- Three recommendation letters
- Faculty interview (invited after initial screening)
- CV or resume
- TOEFL for non-native English speakers (iBT 80 minimum with sub-score floors)
- Up to 25% of graduate credit may transfer from CCNE-, NLN CNEA-, or ACEN-accredited programs
- Deadlines: December 1 (early), April 1 (final); fall cohort start
Out-of-state RNs can be admitted provisionally but cannot progress to clinical courses until they hold both a U.S. and a Michigan RN license. Start the Michigan endorsement process early, since a licensing delay can stall the clinical sequence. The statistics course must be within five years of the start date, not the application date.
BSN-DNP AGPCNP
The BSN-DNP Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP costs an estimated $73,368 for Michigan residents ($136,106 non-resident) for 75 credits. MSU publishes full-time and part-time plans but does not state a completion time in its current program text. It suits BSN-prepared RNs who want the doctorate in one continuous program.
A published conflict worth knowing about. The DNP catalog entry lists a 28-credit core and a 47-credit AGPCNP concentration (75 credits). The curriculum page still shows 70 credits under the older course structure. The catalog figures reconcile course by course, so this page uses 75.
BSN-DNP Curriculum
The BSN-DNP contains the full MSN specialty sequence plus 19 additional credits: NUR 906 (Leadership), a further 6-credit clinical course (NUR 919), and the 10-credit DNP project sequence (NUR 995–997). The project sequence replaces a comprehensive exam and is guided by a faculty committee.
Compared with the MSN, the extra cost is about $18,600 at resident rates. The added value is the terminal degree, more clinical coursework, and a supervised practice-improvement project.
DNP Core (28 credits):
- NUR 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 914 (3 credits each)
- NUR 995 – DNP Project I (4)
- NUR 996 – DNP Project II (3)
- NUR 997 – DNP Project III (3)
AGPCNP Concentration (47 credits):
- NUR 907, 908, 909 – Advanced pathophysiology, physical assessment, pharmacology (3 each)
- NUR 912 – Health promotion for the primary care NP (3)
- NUR 942 – Diagnostic reasoning for the AGPCNP (3)
- NUR 944 – Gerontological concepts for the AGPCNP (2)
- NUR 916, 919 – Primary care diagnosis and management courses (6 each)
- NUR 925, 927, 928 – AGPCNP diagnosis and management I–III (6 each)
Full requirements are in the MSU academic catalog.
BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements
- Total clinical hours: not clearly published for the BSN-DNP
- Clinical hours embedded in NUR 916, 919, 925, 927, and 928
- DNP project practicum: 240 hours across NUR 995–997 in MSU’s published DNP plan (60, 90, and 90)
- Placement: arranged by MSU through Michigan clinical partners, as in the MSN
- Michigan RN license required before clinical courses
Placement works the same way as the MSN. The difference is volume: two additional 6-credit clinical and project courses mean more time in Michigan practice sites.
BSN-DNP Admissions
Requirements match the MSN: BSN, 3.0 GPA in the second half of the BSN, unrestricted RN license, statistics within five years, essay, three letters, faculty interview, and CV. Deadlines are also December 1 (early) and April 1 (final) for a fall start. Out-of-state applicants may be admitted provisionally pending Michigan licensure.
Post-Master’s DNP
The Post-Master’s DNP costs an estimated $27,391–$33,261 for Michigan residents ($50,813–$61,702 non-resident) for 28–34 credits. MSU’s plan of study spans two years. It is only open to practicing APRNs: applicants must hold an MSN and current national certification as an NP, CRNA, CNS, or CNM.
A published conflict worth knowing about. MSU’s post-master’s curriculum PDF states a total of 16–34 credits, but the courses it lists sum to 28 credits before any NUR 990 hours. This page uses 28–34. The lower 16-credit figure may reflect core courses waived by gap analysis, but MSU does not say so.
Post-Master’s DNP Curriculum
This is a doctoral completion pathway, not AGPCNP specialty training. Every student takes the DNP project sequence (NUR 995–997). MSU reviews each transcript against DNP outcomes and assigns any missing core or elective courses. MSU notes that students may request to add an APRN specialty, but it does not describe how that changes credits or cost.
- NUR 902, 903, 904, 905, 906 – Doctoral core (3 each)
- NUR 914 – Biostatistics for the APRN (3)
- NUR 995 – DNP Project I (4; 60 practicum hours)
- NUR 996 – DNP Project II (3; 90 practicum hours)
- NUR 997 – DNP Project III (3; 90 practicum hours)
- NUR 990 – Special Problems (variable; only if clinical hours fall short)
See the post-master’s plan of study.
Post-Master’s DNP Clinical Requirements
- Minimum 1,000 supervised clinical hours across the master’s and DNP programs combined
- Hours short of 1,000 are completed through an individualized plan in NUR 990
- 240 practicum hours built into the project sequence
- Applicants submit a validation form from their prior APRN program verifying clinical hours and three core APRN courses
If your master’s program documented fewer than 760 clinical hours, the 240 project hours alone will not reach 1,000. Your validation form determines how much NUR 990 time, and tuition, you will add.
Post-Master’s DNP Admissions
- MSN from a CCNE- or NLN-accredited program
- Current national certification as an NP, CRNA, CNS, or CNM
- Minimum 3.0 GPA in the master’s program
- Current, unrestricted RN license; Michigan license required before progression for out-of-state NP applicants
- Statistics course within five years
- Essay on doctoral goals, three letters, faculty interview, CV
- Final deadline: April 1, including the validation form (admissions page)
Post-Graduate Certificate AGPCNP
The Post-Graduate AGPCNP Certificate costs an estimated $31,304 for Michigan residents for 32 credits, rising to about $40,108 if all three refresher courses are required. MSU does not publish a completion time in current sources. It is only open to nurses who already hold national APRN certification; it adds the AGPCNP population focus.
A published conflict worth knowing about. The College of Nursing’s certificates page states 27 credits for its post-graduate certificates. The catalog entry lists seven courses totaling 32 credits. This page uses the catalog figure because its course list reconciles to its total.
Certificate Curriculum
The certificate is the MSN concentration without the core. A gap analysis reviews prior advanced pathophysiology, physical assessment, and pharmacology. Faculty decide whether one or all three (NUR 907, 908, 909) must be taken before certificate courses begin. Pharmacology must be within the past five years.
- NUR 912 – Health Promotion (3)
- NUR 942 – Diagnostic Reasoning for the AGPCNP (3)
- NUR 944 – Gerontologic Concepts for the AGPCNP (2)
- NUR 916 – Clinical Diagnosis and Management II (6)
- NUR 925, 927, 928 – Clinical Diagnosis and Management I, III, IV – Adult-Gerontology (6 each)
The catalog labels NUR 912 and NUR 916 as “Family” courses, while the MSN catalog titles them as primary care courses. This reflects the shared FNP/AGPCNP primary care sequence. Details are in the certificate catalog entry.
Certificate Clinical Requirements
- Total clinical hours: not clearly published in current MSU sources
- Clinical hours sit in the four 6-credit diagnosis and management courses
- Placement: arranged by MSU through Michigan partners
- Michigan RN license required before progression
Certified NPs adding a second population often have the hardest time finding preceptors on their own. MSU’s arranged placements address that, but only within Michigan.
Certificate Admissions
- Graduate degree in nursing from an accredited program
- Current national certification as an NP, CNS, CRNA, or CNM
- Minimum 3.0 GPA in graduate nursing coursework
- Current, unrestricted RN license; Michigan license before progression
- Gap analysis of the three core APRN courses
- Essay, three letters, faculty interview, CV
- Application deadline: October 1 (MSU deadlines page); start term not stated
Because certification is required, MSN-prepared nurses who never certified as APRNs are not eligible. They would need the MSN or a different program.
Tuition
MSU’s Controller lists Fall 2026–Spring 2027 graduate tuition at $978.25 per credit for residents and $1,814.75 per credit for non-residents. The rate tables do not list a nurse practitioner line. Nursing falls under MSU’s professional unit group, so this page applies the standard graduate rate.
This corrects the rate used previously. MSU’s lower “Online Nursing” rate ($934.25 resident, $962.25 non-resident) is labeled for the MSN/CNS, DNP/CNS, and online CNS certificate programs only, not the hybrid NP tracks. For a non-resident MSN student, the difference is about $47,700 over 56 credits.
| Pathway | Resident | Non-Resident |
|---|---|---|
| MSN AGPCNP (56 credits) | $54,782 | $101,626 |
| BSN-DNP AGPCNP (75 credits) | $73,368 | $136,106 |
| Post-Master’s DNP (28–34 credits) | $27,391–$33,261 | $50,813–$61,702 |
| Post-Graduate Certificate (32–41 credits) | $31,304–$40,108 | $58,072–$74,405 |
Figures are calculated from MSU’s published per-credit rates and catalog credit totals; MSU does not publish these totals. The non-resident table also lists a generic graduate certification rate of $1,222.25/credit; if it applies to this certificate, non-resident certificate tuition would be about $39,112 for 32 credits.
Fees Beyond Tuition
- Recreational and Wellness Center fee: $85 per semester (4 credits or fewer) or $170 (full-time)
- Council of Graduate Students tax: $11 per semester
- FM Radio tax: $5 per semester; State News tax: $7.50 per semester (6+ credits)
- Course section fees apply to some courses and are not itemized in the rate tables
- Travel to East Lansing for required campus days and to Michigan clinical sites
See MSU’s tuition rates by semester and the College of Nursing funding page.
Why Choose This AGPCNP Program?
Best suited for: Michigan RNs who want school-arranged primary care placements, a strong older-adult emphasis, and limited campus travel at resident tuition.
Arranged Rotations, Anchored in Michigan
MSU vets and arranges clinical sites through statewide partnerships. That is a real advantage over programs that leave preceptor searches to students. The catch is that the partnerships, and the licensing rule, are Michigan-based. A nurse living in Ohio or Indiana should expect to license in Michigan and travel there for clinicals.
Residency Nearly Doubles the Bill
At $978.25 per credit, the resident MSN is about $54,800. The same degree at the non-resident rate is about $101,600. The $836.50-per-credit gap adds roughly $46,800 to the MSN and $62,700 to the BSN-DNP, which outweighs most other cost differences between programs.
A Curriculum in Transition
MSU’s catalog shows a redesigned AGPCNP sequence (56-credit MSN, 75-credit BSN-DNP, 32-credit certificate) with dedicated diagnostic reasoning and gerontology courses. The college’s curriculum page still shows the prior structure. Neither source dates its version, and neither publishes clinical hour totals for the MSN, BSN-DNP, or certificate.
Four Entry Points, Two for Existing APRNs
The MSN and BSN-DNP serve RNs entering advanced practice. The post-master’s DNP and the certificate both require existing APRN certification. The certificate adds the AGPCNP population; the post-master’s DNP adds the doctorate. Neither serves an MSN nurse who is not already a certified APRN.
The Verdict
Michigan-licensed RNs have the strongest reason to choose MSU: arranged placements, about 15 campus days, a 100% reported first-time pass rate in 2024, and resident tuition near $55,000 for the MSN. Out-of-state nurses face nearly double the tuition plus Michigan licensure and in-state clinicals, and should compare programs that place students locally.
Accreditation
MSU’s College of Nursing graduate programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). MSU reports a 100% first-time certification pass rate for its 2024 Adult-Gerontology NP graduates.
Enrollment does not secure clinical placement approval in other states, and all NP students need a Michigan RN license before clinicals. Applicants outside Michigan should check MSU’s state licensure disclosure and their own board of nursing before applying.
Other AGPCNP Programs in Michigan
- Madonna University - Livonia
- Oakland University - Rochester
- Spring Arbor University - Spring Arbor
- University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
- University of Michigan-Flint - Flint