East Carolina University AGPCNP Programs

College of Nursing • Greenville, NC • Mostly Online • $471.50 CPC

East Carolina University’s College of Nursing offers two Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner pathways:

  • BSN-DNP (also the entry route for MSN-prepared nurses seeking the NP role)
  • Post-Doctoral Certificate (for nurses who already hold an MSN and a DNP or PhD in nursing)

Both pathways are hybrid: most coursework is online, with required on-campus sessions at the College of Nursing in Greenville. All clinical rotations take place in North Carolina, and students must hold a North Carolina RN license once admitted.

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. Tuition (Resident)Est. DurationCredit Hours
BSN-DNP$28,7623 years full-time; 4 years part-time61
Post-Doctoral Certificate$10,677Not published25

Tuition estimates multiply ECU’s Fall 2026 distance education graduate rate ($277.06/credit resident) plus the per-credit program tuition ECU adds for DNP programs ($194.44) or College of Nursing certificates ($150.00) by the 2026–2027 catalog credit total.

ECU sets itself apart on two points. Clinical site placement coordinators schedule students with community-based preceptors, within a four-hour drive of home whenever possible. And North Carolina residents pay $471.50 per credit for a 61-credit DNP, roughly $28,800 in tuition for a doctorate oriented toward rural, long-term care, and underserved primary care.

Both advantages stop at the state line. Every clinical hour is completed in North Carolina and students need a North Carolina RN license after admission, so an out-of-state applicant pays $1,238.50 per credit and still needs to live in or travel to North Carolina for four practicum semesters. Students also return to Greenville repeatedly for required on-campus sessions.

ECU offers coordinator-arranged clinicals at in-state public tuition, but only to nurses who can complete every rotation in North Carolina.

Quick Facts

Program TypesBSN-DNP; Post-Doctoral Certificate
FormatHybrid; coursework primarily online
Campus AttendanceHealth Assessment sessions, an immersion each clinical semester, and an in-person DNP project presentation
Clinical Hours720 (BSN-DNP), within a 1,000-hour DNP practice minimum
Clinical PlacementCoordinated by ECU clinical site placement coordinators
Clinical LocationNorth Carolina only; within a 4-hour drive of home when possible
Clinical SettingsCommunity, sub-acute and skilled nursing, long-term care
Licensure RequiredUnencumbered RN license; North Carolina license required upon admission
Start TermFall only; apply by January 10
Tuition$471.50/credit resident; $1,238.50/credit non-resident (DNP)
AccreditationCCNE

BSN to DNP – Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner

The BSN-DNP AGPCNP at East Carolina University costs an estimated $28,762 in tuition for North Carolina residents and $75,549 for non-residents. It requires 61 credits. Full-time students finish in three years (eight terms); part-time students finish in four years (11 terms).

ECU no longer offers a post-master’s NP certificate, so MSN-prepared nurses who want the AGPCNP role apply to this program as BSN-to-DNP students. ECU’s separate 36-credit MSN-to-DNP is a DNP completion program for nurses already in leadership or APRN roles; it does not include AGPCNP clinical training. ECU does not publish whether prior MSN coursework shortens the 61-credit BSN-DNP plan.

BSN-DNP Curriculum

The catalog divides the 61 credits into a 34-credit AGPCNP clinical core, 18 credits of DNP core courses, and 9 credits of DNP project. Within the clinical core are the advanced practice core (9 credits), AGPCNP specialty didactics (11), and four practicums (14).

The full-time plan puts the advanced practice core, Introduction to Primary Care for Adults, and most DNP core courses in Year 1, with no clinical work. Practicums begin in Year 2 fall. The DNP project starts the summer after Practicum II and runs alongside Practicums III and IV. The part-time plan delays the first practicum to Year 3.

Two features stand out. A dedicated reproductive healthcare course sits inside the adult primary care sequence, consistent with a population focus that starts at adolescence. The program ends with a 5-credit clinical residency, the largest practicum in the plan.

Advanced practice core (9 cr.):

  • NURS 6050 – Human Physiology and Pathophysiology for Advanced Nursing Practice (3 cr.)
  • NURS 6610 – Health Assessment for Advanced Nursing Practice (3 cr.)
  • NURS 6611 – Clinical Pharmacology for Advanced Nursing Practice (3 cr.)

AGPCNP specialty didactics (11 cr.):

  • NURS 8113 – Advanced Practice Nursing: Introduction to the Primary Care of Adults (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8114 – Advanced Practice Nursing: Primary Care of Adults (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8115 – Advanced Practice Nursing: Reproductive Healthcare (2 cr.)
  • NURS 8121 – Advanced Practice Nursing: Care of Older Adults (3 cr.)

Practicums (14 cr.):

  • NURS 8118 – Practicum I: Primary Care of Adults (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8122 – Practicum II: Care of Older Adults with Acute and Chronic Illnesses (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8123 – Practicum III: Specialty Care of Adults and Geriatrics (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8124 – Practicum IV: Primary Care Clinical Residency (5 cr.)

DNP core and project (27 cr.):

  • NURS 8361 – Translating Evidence into Advanced Interprofessional Practice (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8363 – Interprofessional Leadership and Role Development (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8367 – Design and Statistical Methods in Advanced Interprofessional Practice and Scholarship (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8369 – Communication and Technology in Advanced Interprofessional Practice (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8370 – Population Health in Advanced Interprofessional Practice (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8373 – Health Care Finance in Advanced Interprofessional Practice (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8372, 8374, 8377 – DNP Project I–III (3 cr. each)

The DNP project ends with a required in-person podium presentation and approval of the final written report by the project team and specialty director.

Full-time plan of study | Part-time plan of study | 2026–2027 catalog

BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements

  • Clinical practice hours: 720, across four practicums. Hours per course are not published.
  • Total practice hours: Additional hours in the DNP project courses bring the program to a minimum of 1,000 practice hours.
  • Timing: Year 2 fall through Year 3 spring (full-time); Year 3 fall through Year 4 spring (part-time).
  • Placement: Clinical site placement coordinators work with students and sites to set up assignments. Students are scheduled with community-based preceptors within a 4-hour drive of home “whenever possible.”
  • Geography: All clinical placements must be in North Carolina.
  • Settings and population: Community settings, sub-acute and skilled nursing facilities, and long-term care; adolescents through the advanced elderly.
  • Early certification: Students may sit for the ANCC or AANP exam before graduating after at least 500 directly precepted hours, with adviser and program director approval.
  • Not published: a placement guarantee, timelines, and what happens if no site is found.

Required on-campus attendance (Greenville):

  • At least three on-campus sessions during NURS 6610 Health Assessment
  • An immersion near the start of each semester with a clinical rotation
  • One day in the final semester to present the DNP project
  • Optional: a two-day New Student Immersion and one-day workshops at the start and end of the DNP project

Published 2026–2027 immersion dates are September 14–17, 2026 (Practicum I or III), January 25–27, 2027 (Practicum II or IV), and June 14–16 for students starting Practicum I in fall 2027. By our count, required visits total at least eight across the program; ECU does not publish a total.

A published conflict worth knowing about. The 2026–2027 catalog describes clinical immersions as 1–3 days, but the program page’s September 2026 immersion runs four days. Plan around the program page’s dates, which are more specific.

The placement model is a real advantage for North Carolina residents. Many AGPCNP programs leave students to find their own preceptors; ECU assigns that work to coordinators. The four-hour radius is a goal, though, so a long commute to a site is possible, particularly for students far from eastern North Carolina.

BSN-DNP Admissions

  • BSN from a nationally accredited nursing program
  • Preferred minimum BSN GPA of 3.0; minimum 3.2 on any graduate work
  • At least one year of RN experience
  • Non-restricted RN license in North Carolina or a compact state to apply; North Carolina RN license required upon admission
  • Undergraduate research course; graduate inferential statistics within 5 years strongly recommended, not required
  • Written statement of career, educational, and scholarship goals
  • Three professional references, at least one from a doctorally prepared nurse
  • Resume or CV
  • Online interview via Microsoft Teams covering goals, commitment to primary care, and professional and community engagement
  • Computer competency with databases, patient information systems, and statistical software
  • TOEFL where English is not the first language; criminal background check after admission
  • Deadline: January 10, with all supporting credentials received
  • Start term: fall only; College of Nursing orientation required at the start of fall semester

ECU evaluates applicants on GPA, references, essay, and interview in a competitive review. Among equally qualified applicants, it gives preference to those who plan to study full-time. The single January 10 deadline matters: missing it delays entry by a full year.

A published conflict worth knowing about. ECU’s DNP admissions page lists a 3.2 minimum GPA and accepts a compact-state RN license. The 2026–2027 catalog sets a preferred 3.0 BSN GPA, applies the 3.2 minimum to graduate work, and requires a North Carolina RN license upon admission. This page follows the catalog. A nurse holding a multistate license from another compact state should plan to obtain a North Carolina license.

DNP admissions requirements


Post-Doctoral Certificate – AGPCNP

The Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate, which the College of Nursing calls its Post-Doctoral Certificate, costs an estimated $10,677 in tuition for North Carolina residents and requires 25 credits. Completion time is not published. Applicants need an MSN and a DNP or PhD in nursing, plus advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment completed within the last five years.

A published conflict worth knowing about. The 2026–2027 catalog sets the certificate at 25 credits. The College of Nursing’s certificate sheet, shared with the FNP certificate, gives a 12–36 credit range set by prior clinical experience. This page uses the catalog’s 25 credits because the catalog is the authoritative statement of requirements. The program director still reviews transcripts and experience to set each plan of study.

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate is the BSN-DNP’s AGPCNP specialty sequence without the advanced practice core or DNP coursework. Pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment are admission requirements rather than courses. All students complete a terminal program assessment in the final semester.

  • NURS 8113 – Introduction to the Primary Care of Adults (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8114 – Primary Care of Adults (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8115 – Reproductive Healthcare (2 cr.)
  • NURS 8121 – Care of Older Adults (3 cr.)
  • NURS 8118, 8122, 8123 – Practicums I–III (3 cr. each)
  • NURS 8124 – Practicum IV: Primary Care Clinical Residency (5 cr.)

Credit values come from ECU’s BSN-DNP plans of study, which use the same courses.

2026–2027 catalog | Post-Doctoral Certificate sheet (PDF)

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Clinical hours: the certificate sheet sets a 500-hour minimum regardless of previous APRN experience. The catalog does not state hours, but the certificate includes the same four practicums that carry 720 hours in the BSN-DNP.
  • Placement: ECU’s AGPCNP placement policy covers these practicum courses: coordinator-arranged, North Carolina only, within a 4-hour drive of home when possible
  • Immersions: required in each semester with a clinical rotation
  • Progression: a minimum grade of B in each clinical course before the next

Certificate Admissions

  • MSN from an accredited program and a DNP or PhD in nursing
  • Advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment completed within the last five years
  • Current unencumbered North Carolina RN license
  • Per the certificate sheet: at least one year of RN experience, goals statement, three references (one from a doctorally prepared nurse), CV, and an interview with a graduate faculty member
  • ECU Graduate School application; criminal background check after admission
  • Deadline: January 10 | Fall start only

The five-year recency rule narrows the field more than the degree requirement. APRN certification is not listed, but few nurses outside APRN practice will have recent graduate pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment. In practice, the certificate best fits a doctorally prepared APRN, such as an FNP or acute care NP, adding the adult-gerontology primary care role. A DNP-prepared nurse leader without recent APRN coursework would likely not qualify.


Tuition

ECU bills graduate distance education students base tuition per credit plus additional program tuition tied to the student’s main program. Fall 2026 rates:

  • Base tuition: $277.06/credit resident; $1,044.06/credit non-resident (flat charge at 9+ credits per term)
  • DNP program tuition: $194.44/credit
  • College of Nursing certificate tuition: $150.00/credit
  • DNP total: $471.50/credit resident; $1,238.50/credit non-resident
  • Certificate total: $427.06/credit resident; $1,194.06/credit non-resident

Residency is the largest cost variable. A non-resident pays about $46,800 more than a resident for the same 61-credit DNP. Neither ECU plan of study exceeds 9 credits in a term, so the flat full-time charge does not reduce the per-credit estimate.

ECU’s fee table does not state whether post-doctoral certificate students are billed the certificate rate or the DNP rate. This page uses the certificate rate. At the DNP rate, resident tuition would be $11,788.

Estimated Total Tuition

PathwayResidentNon-Resident
BSN-DNP (61 cr.)$28,762$75,549
Post-Doctoral Certificate (25 cr.)$10,677$29,852

Figures are calculated from ECU’s published Fall 2026 per-credit rates and 2026–2027 catalog credit totals; ECU does not publish program totals.

Fees Beyond Tuition

  • Distance education/technology fee: $25.17/credit
  • Campus security and graduation fees: $3.33 and $0.67/credit
  • Student government fee: $0.50/term
  • Graduate nursing fee: $150 per eligible course (ECU does not list which courses)
  • Clinical assessment fee: $47.50 (applies to some nursing degrees)
  • Student-borne costs: travel to Greenville and to clinical sites; health and liability insurance during clinical courses

The per-credit fees add about $1,779 across the 61-credit DNP.

See the official tuition page for more details.


Why Choose This AGPCNP Program?

Best suited for: North Carolina RNs with at least a year of experience who want a DNP-level AGPCNP credential at in-state public tuition and want the school to coordinate their preceptors.

Coordinated Placements, but Only in North Carolina

ECU’s placement coordinators remove the preceptor search that consumes months for students in many distance programs. The trade-off is absolute geography: every rotation is in North Carolina, and students need a North Carolina RN license after admission. A nurse in a neighboring state could enroll, but would add North Carolina licensure, non-resident tuition, and in-state clinical travel.

A Doctorate for Under $29,000 in Resident Tuition

At $471.50 per credit, the full BSN-DNP costs residents about $28,762 in tuition. That buys a DNP, including 1,000 practice hours, not an MSN. Non-residents pay $1,238.50 per credit, which removes most of the cost advantage.

Long-Term Care and Rural Practice Emphasis

ECU names sub-acute, skilled nursing, and long-term care settings alongside community clinics, and its DNP is built around health problems in rural underserved areas. Nurses aiming for geriatric or rural primary care get clinical exposure that matches that goal. The admissions interview also probes commitment to primary care, so applicants should be ready to articulate it.

Frequent Trips to Greenville

Required campus time includes at least three Health Assessment sessions, an immersion each clinical semester, and an in-person DNP project presentation. For students in western North Carolina, each trip means a long drive and often lodging, on top of clinical days and, for most, part-time work.

The Verdict

North Carolina residents who want a DNP, value coordinated placements, and are drawn to geriatric, long-term care, or rural practice have the strongest reason to choose ECU. Doctorally prepared APRNs with recent advanced practice coursework can add the AGPCNP role through a 25-credit certificate. Applicants who cannot complete clinicals in North Carolina, who want an MSN or a post-master’s NP certificate, or who cannot travel to Greenville repeatedly should compare other programs.


Accreditation

ECU’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). Graduates are eligible for the AGPCNP certification exam through ANCC or AANP.

ECU designs its graduate programs to meet North Carolina licensure requirements and does not confirm eligibility in other states. All clinicals must be completed in North Carolina. Applicants planning to practice elsewhere should review the licensure disclosure on the AGPCNP program page and their own state’s requirements before enrolling.


Review Other AGPCNP Programs in North Carolina